Veiled Motions

Rhea Ramjohn* reflects on the metaphorical and physical masks that shape our day-to-day movements and interactions. The “performance” of creating space for one another during the Covid-19 pandemic has brought physical distancing to the forefront, and has exposed what many marginalised people have long-known as the pandemic of being othered.

Continue reading “Veiled Motions”

You Are Not Invited

Berlinklusion’s Kate Brehme* reflects on “You Are Not Invited”, a protest action created by the organisation in 2019 at the Haus der Statistik. This ‘un-exhibition’ — an exhibition that no-one was invited to, was Berlinklusion’s exploration of the relationship between gentrification, the temporary use of non-arts spaces for cultural purposes, and the neo-liberal structures that perpetuate inaccessible working conditions for arts workers in Berlin.

Continue reading “You Are Not Invited”

We Have to Learn to Repair the Denial: Inverted Landscapes, Action in the Streets and Stolen Lives.

On September 11, 2020, Pêdra Costa* went to see “Inverted Landscapes”, a performance directed by André e. Teodósio (Teatro Praga) from Lisbon, which began inside with an exhibition by Teodósio and Bruno Bogarim, and was then taken out onto the streets. It was presented at the gallery Kunstraum Botschaft – Camões Berlim, by the performers Ana Tang, Aurora Pinho and Paulo Pascoal.

Continue reading “We Have to Learn to Repair the Denial: Inverted Landscapes, Action in the Streets and Stolen Lives.”

Verschleierte Bewegungen

Rhea Ramjohn* reflektiert über die metaphorischen und materiellen Masken, die unsere alltäglichen Bewegungen und Interaktionen prägen. Die „Performance“, im Rahmen der Covid-19-Pandemie füreinander Platz zu schaffen und einander Raum zu geben, betont Distanzierung und hat dabei offengelegt, was viele marginalisierte Menschen seit Langem als Pandemie des Otherings kennen.

Weiterlesen „Verschleierte Bewegungen“

Sie sind nicht eingeladen

Kate Brehme* von Berlinklusion reflektiert über You Are Not Invited, eine Protestaktion der Gruppe im Haus der Statistik im Jahr 2019. Mit dieser „Nicht-Ausstellung“ – eine Ausstellung, zu der niemand eingeladen wurde – untersuchte Berlinklusion das Verhältnis zwischen Gentrifizierung, der temporären Nutzung von Räumen, die nicht vornehmlich Kunsträume sind, für kulturelle Zwecke und den neoliberalen Strukturen, die unzugängliche Arbeitsbedingungen für Kunstschaffende in Berlin aufrechterhalten.

Weiterlesen „Sie sind nicht eingeladen“

Wir müssen lernen, die Verleugnung zu reparieren: Inverse Landschaften, Aktionen auf den Straßen, gestohlene Leben

Rezension verfasst von Pêdra Costa.*

Am 11. September 2020 besuchte ich „Inverted Landscapes“, eine Performance unter der Regie von André e. Teodósio (Teatro Praga) aus Lissabon, mit den Performer*innen Ana Tang, Aurora Pinho und Paulo Pascoal. Die Performance wurde im Kunstraum Botschaft / Instituto Camões Berlim präsentiert. Sie begann im Innenraum mit einer Ausstellung von Teodósio und Bruno Bogarim und bewegte sich dann hinaus auf die Straße. 

Weiterlesen „Wir müssen lernen, die Verleugnung zu reparieren: Inverse Landschaften, Aktionen auf den Straßen, gestohlene Leben“